

LOS ANGELES PHILHARMONIC

Fact Sheet

Founded by William Andrews Clark, Jr., a 42-year-old amateur musician, lawyer, and art patron, the Los Angeles Philharmonic performed its first concert on Friday, October 24, 1919, in Trinity Auditorium with its first Music Director, Walter Henry Rothwell. The Philharmonic's premiere audience heard Dvořák's *New World* Symphony, Liszt's *Les Préludes*, the Overture to Weber's *Oberon*, and Chabrier's *España*.

The Philharmonic gave concerts in Philharmonic Auditorium from 1920 through the end of the 1963/64 season. In 1964, the orchestra moved to the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion of the Los Angeles Music Center, which was its winter home until their final performances there in May 2003. The orchestra moved to its new home, the 2,265-seat Walt Disney Concert Hall, when it opened in October 2003.

The Music Directors of the Philharmonic:

Walter Henry Rothwell	1919-1927
Georg Schnéevoigt	1927-1929
Artur Rodzinski	1929-1933
Otto Klemperer	1933-1939*
Alfred Wallenstein	1943-1956
Eduard van Beinum	1956-1959*
Zubin Mehta	1962-1978
Carlo Maria Giulini	1978-1984*
André Previn	1985-1989*
Esa-Pekka Salonen	1992-2009
Gustavo Dudamel	2009-present

^{*} During the periods when the orchestra had no Music Director, the orchestra performed under the direction of guest conductors.

The Los Angeles Philharmonic consists of 103 musicians:

Violins: 33	Flutes (incl. Piccolo): 4	Horns: 6
Violas: 13	Oboes (incl. English Horn): 4	Trumpets: 4
Cellos: 11	Clarinets (incl. Bass Clarinet): 4	Trombones: 4
Basses: 9	Bassoons (incl. Contrabassoon): 4	Tuba: 1
Harp: 1	Timpani and Percussion: 4	Keyboards: 1