

## LOS ANGELES PHILHARMONIC ANNOUNCES GRAMMY-WINNER HERBIE HANCOCK TO CONTINUE AS THE WILLIAM POWERS & CAROLYN POWERS CREATIVE CHAIR FOR JAZZ THROUGH THE 2016/17 SEASON

Los Angeles, CA (May 5, 2015) - The Los Angeles Philharmonic Association announced today a one-year extension to Herbie Hancock's contract as the William Powers & Carolyn Powers Creative Chair for Jazz through the Hollywood Bowl 2016 season and the 2016/17 winter season at Walt Disney Concert Hall. Hancock's tenure began in the summer of 2010 and under his guidance the Los Angeles Philharmonic has presented notable jazz programs with both legends and breakthrough artists of the genre, including Esperanza Spalding, Cecile McLorin Salvant, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Dianne Reeves, Bobby McFerrin, The Neville Brothers, Quincy Jones, Hugh Masekela and many more. The upcoming seasons present equally diverse concerts with artists that include Jamie Cullum, Wayne Shorter, Orquesta Buena Vista Social Club, Trombone Shorty, Chick Corea, Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis, Billy Childs, José James, Aloe Blacc, and Ledisi, among many others.

"I am truly grateful to continue working with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and further build upon our shared commitment and dedication to the jazz genre," says Hancock. "Together, we will continue to create more unforgettable musical experiences for today's jazz artists and audiences."

"Herbie Hancock passionately celebrates and explores the jazz genre in all its forms, and his singular musical vision continues to inspire the LA Phil's jazz series,"

says Deborah Borda, President & CEO, Los Angeles Philharmonic Association. "We are privileged to have an ongoing relationship with such an exceptional artist, who is an integral part of the LA Phil family."

The Creative Chair for Jazz works directly with the Presentations Department of the Los Angeles Philharmonic crafting the jazz series and related education initiatives presented annually by the LA Phil at the Hollywood Bowl and Walt Disney Concert Hall. The position was first held by Dianne Reeves in 2002 until she was succeeded by Christian McBride in 2006. Herbie Hancock is the third incumbent and was originally announced in the position in March 2009 and began his tenure with the Hollywood Bowl 2010 season.

###

Contacts: Sophie Jefferies, sjefferies@laphil.org, 213.972.3422 Lisa Bellamore, lbellamore@laphil.org, 213.972.3689