

Contacts: Sophie Jefferies, sjefferies@laphil.org, 213.972.3422

Lillian Matchett, lmatchett@laphil.org, 213.972.3406

Photos: 213.972.3034

LOS ANGELES PHILHARMONIC ANNOUNCES MULTI-GRAMMY-WINNING ARTIST HERBIE HANCOCK TO CONTINUE AS THE WILLIAM POWERS AND CAROLYN POWERS CREATIVE CHAIR FOR JAZZ THROUGH THE 2015/2016 SEASON

The Los Angeles Philharmonic Association announced today a one-year extension to Herbie Hancock's contract as the William Powers and Carolyn Powers Creative Chair for Jazz through the Hollywood Bowl 2015 and 2015/16 winter season at the Walt Disney Concert Hall. Hancock's tenure began in the summer of 2010 and under his guidance the Los Angeles Philharmonic has offered jazz programming from around the world with artists such as Wayne Shorter, Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis, Orquesta Buena Vista Social Club, Christian McBride, Dianne Reeves, Esperanza Spalding, Bobby McFerrin, and more. The upcoming seasons present a diverse blend of new jazz stars and beloved greats such as Chick Corea, Cécile McLorin Salvant, Terri Lyne Carrington, Marcus Miller, Buddy Guy, John Legend, Gilberto Santa Rosa, Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings and Hancock himself.

"Developing moving jazz programs at Walt Disney Concert Hall and the Hollywood Bowl has been a great experience," states Hancock. "I'm thrilled to continue my work with the LA Phil in bringing audiences at both venues the best of the wonderful and diverse genre."

"It is an honor to extend our partnership with such an exceptional artist and true icon of modern music," added President and CEO Deborah Borda. "Herbie Hancock has been instrumental in shaping our jazz programming and furthering the LA Phil's commitment to the genre. We are tremendously fortunate to have him as part of the LA Phil family."

The Creative Chair for Jazz works directly with the programming department of the Los Angeles Philharmonic crafting the jazz series and related education initiatives presented annually by the LA Phil. The position was first held by Dianne Reeves in 2002 until she was succeeded by Christian McBride in 2006. Herbie Hancock is the third incumbent and was originally announced in the position in March 2009 and began his tenure with the Hollywood Bowl 2010 season.

###

04.29.13